Fiber Bliss?

Nothing happens until something moves.

Albert Einstein

Cruising along Pinterest late one night, I stumbled upon this quote. It resonated with me because at the time, I was in sort of a limbo, between that happy soon-to-be housewife and the independent woman of the 21st century.

You see, I’m an American living in South Africa. I left my job and moved across the globe for the love of my life. I left my home town of Orlando, FL, I packed my few belongings, I hugged all my family and friends goodbye. And through this project we’ve undertaken (renovating a house to a b&b), I found that I was no longer thinking about what I want out of me. I always wanted to start something on my own that I’m passionate about. Something that gets me excited when I think of it. But I didn’t know what my passion was. What were my dreams and aspirations? What happened to the goals I had before I met my hunny?  At the end of the day, just like everyone, I just want a sense of self and do what I love.

That’s why I started Fiber Bliss. After learning how to knit (I taught myself through YouTube videos!), I found a utopia within myself. I realized I could empower and encourage others to do the same. And I plan to make this grow and flourish! For me, it’s a sort of escape, but also a way to connect with others that share the same passion! Knitting has become this place I go to, to get away from everyday life. Whether it’s a shawl, a scarf, a hat, etc, I become one with myself and the object I’m creating. There is no 9 – 5 job; no dishes to wash, no in-laws to cater to. It’s the bliss that I never knew I was missing.

Just me, the needles, and fiber.

And with that, I encourage you to continue that project you stored away a few weeks ago; go to your yarn shop and grab an awesome color yarn that inspires you to create; let yourself be fully immersed in your project, and don’t feel guilty about it!

There’s a reason you love what you do! Do it!

xo

3 thoughts on “Fiber Bliss?

Leave a Reply

